Senate Confirmation Hearings for SCOTUS Nominee Judge Gorsuch – Day 1

The Senate Judiciary Committee has begun hearings for Supreme Court Justice nominee Judge Neil Gorsuch. The hearing will conclude within three to four days.

Each step of the way during the Nomination Process, your Faith & Action team will be present — praying and relaying information to you, our support team, so that you can be informed and pray with us over this critical time in history.

Once the Senate Judiciary Committee finishes their inquiry, they will report out to the entire Senate who will then consider and vote on the nominee. A simple majority vote is required to confirm or to reject a nominee, but a successful filibuster could threaten the vote. If a filibuster occurs, 60 votes are needed in favor of cloture, which would allow debate to end and force a final vote on the confirmation.

Once the Senate confirms the nomination by an affirmative vote, the Secretary of the Senate attests to a resolution of confirmation and transmits it to the White House. The President then prepares and signs a commission, and affixes the Seal of the United States Department of Justice before the new Supreme Court Justice can take office.

A ceremony is held in which the Justice must take the Constitutional Oath. The final ceremony is when the Justice appears at the U.S. Supreme Court with the President and the rest of the Justices on the High Court to take his seat.

The Confirmation Process to Becoming a Supreme Court Justice
Learn More About Confirmation Process HERE:

Nomination of Judge Gorsuch to be an Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the United States


Date: March 20, 2017
Time: 11:00 AM
Location: Hart Senate Office Building 216
Presiding: Chairman Grassley


Member Statements

Senator Chuck Grassley R (IA): Read Statement
Senator Orrin G. Hatch R (UT): Read Statement
Senator Michael S. Lee R (UT): Read Statement 


The Honorable Michael Bennet
United States Senator
State of Colorado

The Honorable Cory Gardner
United States Senator
State of Colorado
Mr. Neal Katyal
Former Acting Solicitor General 2010-2011
Washington, D.C.

Panel I
The Honorable Neil M. Gorsuch

Panel II

Ms. Nancy Scott Degan
American Bar Association
Standing Committee On The Federal Judiciary
New Orleans, LA

Ms. Shannon Edwards
American Bar Association
Standing Committee On The Federal Judiciary
Edmond, OK

Panel III


The Honorable Deanell Reece Tacha
U.S. Court Of Appeals Judge (Retired)
Duane And Kelly Roberts Dean And Professor Of Law
Pepperdine Law School
Malibu, CA

The Honorable Robert Harlan Henry
U.S. Court Of Appeals Judge (Retired)
Oklahoma City University
Oklahoma City, OK
The Honorable John L. Kane
U.S. District Court Judge (Senior)
District Of Colorado
Denver, CO
Ms. Leah Bressack
Former Law Clerk
Washington, D.C.


Ms. Elisa Massimino
President And CEO
Human Rights First
Washington, D.C.

Mr. Jameel Jaffer
Executive Director
Knight First Amendment Institute
Columbia University
New York, NY

Mr. Jeff Perkins
Berthoud, CO
Mr. Guerino J. Calemine, III
General Counsel
Communications Workers Of America
Washington, D.C.

Panel IV


Mr. Jeff Lamken
Washington, D.C.

Professor Lawrence Solum
Carmack Waterhouse Professor Of Law
Georgetown University Law Center
Washington, D.C.
Professor Jonathan Turley
J.B. And Maurice C. Shapiro Professor Of Public Interest Law
The George Washington University Law School
Washington, D.C.
Ms. Karen Harned
Executive Director
National Federation Of Independent Business Small Business Legal Center
Washington, D.C.
Ms. Heather McGhee
New York, NY
Ms. Fatima Goss Graves
Senior Vice President For Program & President-Elect
National Women’s Law Center
Washington, D.C.
Mr. Pat Gallagher
Environmental Law Program
Sierra Club
Oakland, CA
Ms. Eve Hill
Brown Goldstein Levy
New York, NY

Panel V


Mr. Peter Kirsanow
U.S. Commission On Civil Rights
Benesch, Friedlander, Coplan & Aronoff
Cleveland, OH

Ms. Alice Fisher
Latham & Watkins
Washington, D.C.

Ms. Hannah Smith
Senior Counsel
Washington, D.C.

Mr. Tim Meyer
Former Law Clerk
Nashville, TN

Mr. Jamil Jaffer
Former Law Clerk
Arlington, VA


Ms. Kristen Clarke
President & CEO
Lawyers Committee For Civil Rights Under Law
Washington, D.C.

Ms. Sarah Warbelow
Legal Director
Human Rights Campaign
Washington, D.C.

Amy Hagstrom Miller
President & CEO
Whole Woman’s Health
Charlottesville, VA

William Marshall
William Rand Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor Of Law
University Of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
Ms. Sandy Phillips
Boerne, TX